TU Wien Informatics

Prof. Tjoa chairs the UN Commission on Science and Technology for Development

  • 2018-06-12
  • Public Outreach

The Comission of the United Nations appointed A Min Tjoa to chair the upcoming session 2018/19

In May 2018, the 21st session of the Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD), chaired by Plácido Gómez Ramírez (Dominican Republic), was held in Geneva. As a representative of Austria, Prof. Dr. A Min Tjoa, Professor at TU Wien, will hold the CSTD chairmanship for the 22nd session. Prof. Tjoa will also chair the WEOG, a UN Regional Group including Western Europe, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

Tackling sustainability and resilience

According to Prof. Tjoa the two priority topics decided for the upcoming session are the impact of rapid technological change on sustainable development as well as the role of science, technology and innovation in resilient communities, including the contribution of citizen science. For the upcoming session there are two “mandates” of the CSTD including a follow-up of the World Summit on the Information Society (WSIS) process with the ITU, the specialized agency for information and communication technologies of the UN. Furthermore, the commission aims to tackle the topic of Science, Technology and Innovation for Development (especially for the achievement of the Sustainable Development Goals 2030).

The “intersessional” panel of this commission will presumably take place in Vienna in January 2019.


Note: This is one of the thousands of items we imported from the old website. We’re in the process of reviewing each and every one, but if you notice something strange about this particular one, please let us know. — Thanks!